Members of the Merrylands Swimming Club had an enjoyable evening at the club's Annual Presentation Evening tonight. Members, friends and family celebrated the success of the 2011/12 season and recognised the swimmers, volunteers and parents who worked hard throughout the year.

Four Members were presented with Service Excellence Awards. Ian Johnston, Graham Edwards, Glenda Wood and Chris Liepins were presented with the awards in recognition of their outstanding service to the club for more than 10 years.

In the pool, Hayley Baker and Haley Sharp shared the Junior Girl Graded Pointscore Trophy and Carl Sorensen was the highest placed Junior Boy. Peter Johnston took home the hotly contested Handicap Trophy.

Brittany Johnson was presented with the Champion of Champions Award for an 8th time. Brittany broke 11 club championship records throughout the year and represented the club at meets up to and including the State Open Championships. Fady Farid also broke 2 records this season.

Natalie Sorensen was presented with The Jack Smart Encouragement Award after steadily improving over the season. Carl Sorensen was presented with the Jim Pye Development Award or "Minties" Award - for his improvement throughout the season and after qualifying the Metro South West Championships for the first time. The Minties Award perpetuates the memory of Life Member Jim Pye.

In the Relay Competition the title was won for the second time in a row, by the "The Great Ones" (Haley Sharp, Adam Sharp, Emily Evans, Tanya Cleland, Alison Sakurovs, Miriam Webber). Whilst competition was intense throughout the season, The Great Ones' consistency proved a winning formula.

Boy Captain Adam Sharp was presented with the Lions Club Award for his hard work throughout the season assisting with the weekly raffle, Learn to Swim, selling cards and recording results.

Steven Nguyen was presented with the Learn to Swim Volunteer of the Year Award for his contribution to the Learn to Swim Program.
Four members of the club’s swimming squads were recognised for their efforts at training over the past season. Graham Edwards, Alison Sakurovs, Helen Latukefu and Lachlan Derwin all received a club beanie.

Thank you to all the people who helped organise the presentation and who helped throughout the season.

You can find the season results in the Club Races section and the full list of other awards presented on the night in the Presentation section.

See Also
  • Presentation Evening

  • Graded Point Score Results

  • Championship Results

  • Senior Handicap Results

  • Relay Competition Results

  • Masters Aerobic Trophy Results

  • Champion of Champions Results

  • Feature: The History of The Graded Pointscore

  • Feature: The History of The Senior Handicap

  • Feature: The History of The Champion Of Champions

  • Awards - John “Jack” Smart Encouragement Award

  • Awards - Jim Pye Development Award - “The Minties Trophy”

  • Awards - Learn to Swim Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Awards - Masters Aerobic Trophy
  • Trophies
Trophies waiting to be presented at the Presentation Evening.
    Trophies waiting to be presented at the Presentation Evening.