Tonight marked the end of an era for swimming in NSW as the Cumberland District ceased to exist and the Swimming Metro South West Area emerged in it's place.

Along with the new name, a new logo and colours were selected following an Area wide competition.

The winning logo (no 14a), submitted by McCredie Park, includes a shark, providing a sense of history and link to the old Cumberland District. The colours selected are Aqua, Lime Green and Silver/Grey.

Both of the other two finalists in the competition were submitted by our club's members.

The following Clubs are the Founding Members of the new Metro South West Area:
Atlantis Macarthur Indoor Nepean Wenden
Blacktown City Macquarie Fields Penrith Wentworthville RSL
Bankstown Sports McCredie Park Penrith RSL
Camden Merrylands Prairiewood
Campbelltown Mount Annan Revesby Workers
Holsworthy Mounties Ripples St Mary's
Inswim Myswim Swimfit Macarthur
Liverpool Narellan All Stars Toongabbie

The Wizards Swim Team are also hoping to be granted affiliation with the area.

The first swimming meet held by the new South West Area will be the Winter Short Course Meet at the Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre on May 25th. Congratulations to our members whose logos were finalists in the competition.

Logo Competition Finalists

Following voting by our members, the 3 logos submitted to the Cumberland AGM as our club's top 3 in order of preference were 1a, 2c and 16. The final top 3 logos following all the area club's selections prior to the meeting were, in order of preference 14a (27pts), 16 (24pts) and 1a (17pts). Following voting at the AGM, the placings remained the same.

2nd Placed Logo
(no 16)
by Peter Johnston
3rd Placed Logo
(no 1a)
by David Wang

See Also
  • Swimming Cumberland

  • The End of Cumberland

  • Swimming Metro South West Logo Competition